“Found” lunch

Somehow the week ran away with me and I did not post anything… that does not, however, mean that I was not cooking, eating or writing notes for blogging.  I hope to catch up sometime this weekend.

It’s a beautiful winter’s Saturday here in Johannesburg – warm, clear and sunny.  I’m trying to work through a long list of chores, so had limited time for lunch.  Fortunately, I found some leftovers and partly-used ingredients lurking in the fridge and assembled a delicious snack in double-quick time.

The foundation was the remnants of a baguette (french loaf) from last night’s dinner (Tuna, Sicilian style – see the recipe I posted last week) – I’m a sucker for crusty fresh bread and to hell with the carbs… Then there was the remains of a packet of bacon, with a few lonely rashers just calling to be paired with the grill (yup, trusty TV grill crisped those rashers in no time), the beautifully ripe avocado, a sad half red onion and, of course, some chillies.  Whilst the bacon crisped up, I lobbed some sliced onion and chopped fresh red and green chillies into a frying pan with a little butter, sliced the avocado, and prepared the baguette.

Assembled – ready to be folded over and enjoyed out on the sunny patio with some fresh juice and the Saturday newspaper:

Crispy baguette, bacon rashers, slices of avocado, fried chillies & onion

Crispy baguette, bacon rashers, slices of avocado, fried chillies & onion

Yummy! Now I need to get back to those chores, much as I’d like to write about that tuna last night, or the chicken pie last weekend, or the “trashy” bangers & mash, or turning leftover oxtail into ragu for pasta…

Leave a Reply

